On my wedding

I promised my readers a few months ago that I would post more thoroughly about my wedding and honeymoon eventually, and now here it is!

But, before I start going into everything, I have to tell you the most amazing thing that happened! During our marriage ceremony, right in the middle of my vows, a black walnut fell out of the sky, shattered the piece of slate our marriage license was sitting on, and left a stamp mark right on the witness line! My husband’s grandfather used to show him how to break open the black walnuts and make foods out of them, so we took that as a blessing from him, and from the forest. See, look:

All photos were taken by Meghan Hayes.

Husband and I had a first look, so we saw each other before the ceremony. I’m so glad we did–it made me so much less nervous just beforehand, and gave me the chance to get to see his reaction to what I looked like as his bride, and gave me a chance to sink in how good he looked as a groom before we got into the nitty gritty of it. There were tears all over the place.

D&S-119

D&S-135

Then I did the same thing with my dad:

D&S-255

Mom-Dad Cry

My sister and I acted like twins:

D&S-282

And then the ceremony, which was the so emotionally intense:

D&S-235

My nephew was the “ringing bearer.” He started everything by running around the circle where everyone was sitting ringing a bell. Everyone else had a tiny pair of bells in their seats they were welcome to ring.
jimmy run

During the procession, everyone in attendance sang “Down in the River to Pray.”
D&S-500

And then a friend of mine played Native American flute for my entrance:
D&S-506

D&S-536

And then things proceeded to be very emotional:
D&S-568

D&S-602

yarn universe

D&S-624

D&S-628

D&S-634

And then, the most amazing thing happened! A black walnut fell out of the sky, shattered the piece of slate our marriage license was sitting on, and left a stamp mark right on the witness line! My husband’s grandfather used to show him how to break open the black walnuts and make foods out of them, so we took that as a blessing from him, and from the forest.

D&S-715

D&S-726

And then we were married! And the first thing I did was turn around and run to my sister, who was crying her eyes out.
twiny embrace

During the receiving line, a hawk flew right overhead. That was amazing blessing/omen number two, courtesy of Lady Freyja, who often appears to me in the form of birds of prey.

D&S-772

And then, everything else happens just like it does at weddings. And it was amazing.

My family:

D&S-1041

D&S-1107

D&S-1170

My sister made me this amazing shawl as a wedding gift. I am definitely going to keep it as an heirloom.:
D&S-1254

Our wedding cake was toadstools:
D&S-1294

There was a lot of cowboy hats and hat hair:

D&S-1416

D&S-1422

And we danced the night away:

D&S-1640

Next time: The Honeymoon; Or Maybe We’re Both Druids Now?

One thought on “On my wedding

Leave a Reply

