Hex Magazine

Just popping in to tell everyone that I just got Issue 8 of Hex Magazine in the mail yesterday, and it includes my essay, “The Gods in Our Bodies: Dance as a Voice of the Heathen Spirit.” And I must say, the layout of my page is beautiful. They picked the prettiest font for my title!

Anyway, as soon as I got the magazine, I sat down and read the whole thing, and it’s chock full of really good essays. I’m excited to try out some of Thistlemoon‘s recipes. the collection dreams and visions that changed people’s lives was inspiring and a really great reminder that this really is a religion and more of us than generally admit it have mystical experiences. Chris Travers’ essay “Creating Community for the Modern World” was thought-provoking. Siegfried Goodfellow’s essay “Heathenism: And Earth-Centered Religion” made me want to go fence off sacred grove. And Henry Lauer’s essay, Therapeutic Ancestor Worship, inspired me to think about heathenry in new, larger ways that really plant the religion in a post-enlightenment world where we are inspired by such thinkers as Jung and Nietzsche. And that’s just some of the fantastic essays and stories gracing the pages of this great magazine.

So go buy yourself a copy! It’s a really good magazine. I’ve been thoroughly impressed with both of the issues I’ve received.

8 thoughts on “Hex Magazine

    • You are in that issue! You’re one of them in the section on “A Dream or Vision That Changed My Life.” I really liked reading about your experiences with Frigga and the importance of dreams to religious experience.

      • Thanks! and to answer Willow…nope not my first time 🙂 I have a book rolling out in May from Imannion…details on our site: http://www.kenaz.ca, where we have a link to Flame in Bloom 🙂 as this is one of our most read blogs!

        Outside of blogs I was in a book on Cultural Appropriation, a book of poems, I will be in a book on heathen songs, and hopefully some other books too if I get into them! I submit all over the place…:) I am also on a number of secret projects :)!

        Thanks for the congradulations! I hope to maybe have something (hint hint) from The Flame in Bloom author in the book I am working on now! I am working on one called Living Our Faith, it is about people who live daily worship to any patron or god or thing, and how it affected thier lives. It is an extension of the book that I just released, sort of a sequal. So, if anyone is interested in submitting, I would love to hear from you…

      • And woops i am sorry that congradulations was for the author of the other article, so i am sorry…congradulations to you for getting into Hex, I cannot wait to read it and waiting for my copy to show up 🙂

  1. It is always lovely to read such warm words about Hex! We’re really pleased to have you printed in our magazine and I’m so glad that you are enjoying it.

Leave a Reply

