Anne Sexton

Here is a poem by Anne Sexton that always fills me with joy and reminds me of Freyja and her brother. It’s one of my favorite love poems of all time.

Us

I was wrapped in black

fur and white fur and

you undid me and then

you placed me in gold light

and then you crowned me,

while snow fell outside

the door in diagonal darts.

While a ten-inch snow

came down like stars

in small calcium fragments,

we were in our own bodies

(that room that will bury us)

and you were in my body

(that room that will outlive us)

and at first I rubbed your

feet dry with a towel

because I was your slave

and then you called me princess.

Princess!

Oh then

I stood up in my gold skin

and I beat down the psalms

and I beat down the clothes

and you undid the bridle

and you undid the reins

and I undid the buttons,

the bones, the confusions,

the New England postcards,

the January ten o’clock night,

and we rose up like wheat,

acre after acre of gold,

and we harvested,

we harvested.

In other news, my life is starting to calm down a little bit, so I should be able to write a new post sometime in the next week or so.

One thought on “Anne Sexton

Leave a Reply

