Spring is only a few days away!

I took a walk today, and I saw Spring! She’s not quite here yet, but it will only be a few more days.

I didn’t wear a coat because the sun was shining so beautifully, and I even felt hot walking up the hill. I saw trees just barely beginning to bud–I had to look closely to see, but it’s there. I saw plants pushing their way up through the Earth to greet the sun. I saw flowers–perhaps a handful of tiny white flowers, a single orange one ready to bloom. I saw a flowering tree threatening to burst forth in color at any moment.

And in just a couple of days, about a block from my apartment, there will be a daffodil.

There is no moment that means more to me that Spring has come than the Day of the First Daffodil. The day when the Sun, in all her fiery glory, comes out of the earth and blooms.

3 thoughts on “Spring is only a few days away!

  1. You seem as passionate about Spring as I am about Autumn 🙂 Growing up where I did, Spring meant being just a tick away from brutal summers … living where I do now, I look forward to watching Nature gather itself, then literally explode in Spring greenery overnight.

  2. I grew up in Alabama, so I know what you mean about brutal summers.

    On the other hand, I’m pretty darn passionate about every season but winter. I only like winter during a snowstorm when I have nowhere I have to go. I really don’t mind being blisteringly hot, but I really, really hate being cold. Autumn was the best when I lived in the Hudson Valley, but there just aren’t enough trees in Philadelphia to make autumn quite that magical. Here, it seemed to last only a couple of weeks.

    Spring is the best, though. The whole world wakes up and laughs and sighs with relief. And everyone wants to go outside and bask in the sunlight because it’s novel and they haven’t been able to for months. It’s wonderful.

  3. Oh I do love Spring… I am passionate about all seasons but Summer. Autumn and Winter are weather to rug up and get cozy! Spring is so awe-inspiring with all the new life! Summer is just a long period where I turn into a Zombie until Autumn arrives.

    The only thing I dislike about cold weather is the fact that it’s so much harder for me to get out of bed and get moving. But I suppose that is my own fault, not the weather’s.

Leave a Reply

