Valentine’s Day/ Vanadis Day

Happy Valentine’s/Vanadis’ Day everyone!

In my house, Valentine’s day is one of the most sacred holidays. It’s up there with Walpurgisnacht/May Day, Yule, and the Summer Solstice.

I don’t celebrate Imbolc. It doesn’t do anything for me. To me, February 2 is Groundhog Day, which is a very minor holiday that marks the fact that winter is halfway over. But there has been a whole lot more winter since then than there was before–we (and pretty much everyone on this coast) had record-breaking snowfall in the past week, so it does not feel like winter is wrapping up.

Here, in the doldrums of winter, I would much rather celebrate love and joy and sex. I know that Valentine’s Day was basically invented by the greeting card companies, and I hate how commercialized and gross it is. But what it celebrates is something that I WANT to celebrate, deep down at the core of my being. The thing that I care so much about that I worship two goddesses who rule over it. Love. Relationships. Those people who make the fight of life worth living, who make it worth it to get through winter until spring comes back again. The people who can make being stuck inside for days because there are four feet of snow falling outside into a joyous celebration of existence. Love and pink and flowers and joy. And Freyja and Sjofn.

And so, in my house, Valentine’s Day is the midwinter holiday of choice. And I call it Vanadis’ Day. I dedicate it to Freyja and Sjofn–the goddesses who have given me my loved ones.

We didn’t buy anything except food. For everything else, we did what love does–we made do with what we had, and we loved what was around us.

Here are some pictures:

My sister made us a candy heart wreath.

My boyfriend and I got dressed up. Here we are in between the paper heart garlands I made to decorate the kitchen. You may notice I am barefoot. This is because I hate shoes and love to feel the earth (even when it’s carpet) beneath my feet.

See look! We love each other! Thanks, Freyja and Sjofn!

We went on a walk through the snowy woods and discovered a meditating cave that I will use when it gets warmer out:

We made a dinner of aphrodisiacs in honor of Freyja and Sjofn. I gave a speech dedicating the food to them, and then we enjoyed it thoroughly. It was the first time my (Christian) boyfriend ever saw me make a formal dedication speech, and he was quite impressed. I cried tears of joy.

It was a very joyous meal. Afterward, we had danced and sang to the goddesses, and then had a private sex ritual together. Then we ate delicious chocolate cake and watched a chick flick.

It was our first Vanadis day together (we’ve been in a long-distance relationship for five years, and this is only the second year I’ve celebrated Valentine’s in honor of Freyja and Sjofn), and it was a truly wonderful experience. I have been working on getting my boyfriend more involved in my religion. He’s been wonderfully supportive, and he’s beginning to truly understand what it is that heathenry does for me, the joy that I get out of my goddesses and gods. It was my first time really celebrating with someone else, and I am very excited to do more. I was a bit nervous about making him uncomfortable, but there was nothing beyond love and joy here. I feel so very blessed to have him. I was a (bad) Christian when we started dating six and a half years ago. He’s been there with me all along, through three (or four, depending how you count) religions. And except for the first few weeks after I converted to paganism, he hasn’t been anything but supportive. He sees that heathenry is probably the best thing that has ever happened to me, and tells me that he wouldn’t change my religion for anything.  He is so open to my religion and knows now that my gods are real. He’s wonderful.

Hail Freyja! Hail Sjofn! Thank you for the love that you’ve given and the joy that you are! May we never fail to see you before us!

4 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day/ Vanadis Day

  1. Hail Freyja! Hail Sjofn!

    I think Vanadis’ Day is a wonderful idea! You and Davin look so lovely together 🙂

    Just for the record though – Valentines Day may have been commercialized by Hallmark and the rest of the modern V-day scene, it was originally St. Valentine’s Day, named after one or more early Christian martyrs named Valentine and was established by Pope Gelasius I in AD 496. It is traditionally a day on which lovers express their love for each other by presenting flowers, offering confectionery, and sending greeting cards (known as “valentines”). The holiday first became associated with romantic love in the circle of Geoffrey Chaucer in the High Middle Ages, when the tradition of courtly love flourished.

    The Valentines honored on February 14 are Valentine of Rome and Valentine of Terni. Valentine of Rome was a priest in Rome who was martyred about AD 269.

    Valentine of Terni became bishop of Interamna (modern Terni) about AD 197 and is said to have been martyred during the persecution under Emperor Aurelian.

    The Pagans of the age celebrated Lupercalia from Feburary 13th to the 15th, and it’s a fairly common opinion that the Church decided to celebrate St. Valentine’s Day on the 14th to help the conversion, like with many other holidays.

    Thought you’d find that interesting. Happy Vanadis’ Day! Sounds like you had an amazing one 🙂

  2. Pingback: Happy Vanadis Day! | Flame in Bloom

  3. What a wonderful idea to celebrate Vanadis day. And I think it is great you accept eachothers religion so well. That is what real love is all about: accepting who you partner is instead of changing her into what you want her to be (or him)

Leave a Reply

